home Movies, News Cannes Festvial Ends With Haneke Winning Palme d’Or

Cannes Festvial Ends With Haneke Winning Palme d’Or

The Cannes film festival ended with Austrian director Michael Haneke winning the Palme d’Or for his new movie, “The White Ribbon.”  “Ribbon,” is set in 1931 and is about strange goings on in a small town in Germany, where strange deaths occur.

The Cannes jury was headed by actress Isabelle Huppert and included Asia Argento, Hanif Kureishi and Robin Wright Penn.  There had been rumors of screaming and fights in the jury room, but several members have denied such stories.  Here’s the full list of winners:

Palme d’Or
The White Ribbon, Michael Haneke, Germany-France-Austria-Italy

Grand Prix
A Prophet, Jacques Audiard, France

Special Jury Prize
Alain Resnais, Wild Grass (France)

Brillante Mendoza, Kinatay, Philippines

Jury Prize
Fish Tank, Andrea Arnold, UK
Thirst, Park Chan-wook, South Korea-U.S.

Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds, U.S.-Germany

Charlotte Gainsbourg, Antichrist, Denmark-Germany-France-Sweden-Italy-Poland

Mei Feng, Spring Fever, Hong Kong-France

Short Films Jury Prizes

Palme d’Or
Arena, Joao Salaviza, Portugal

Special Mention
The Six Dollar Fifty Man, Mark Albiston, Louis Sutherland, New Zealand

Un Certain Regard Jury Awards
Main Prize
Dogtooth, Yorgos Lanthimos, Greece

Jury Prize
Police, Adjective, Corneliu Porumboiu, Romania

Special Prize
No One Knows About Persian Cats, Bahman Ghobadi, Iran
Father of My Children, Mia Hansen-Love, France

Other Main Jury Awards

Camera d’Or
Samson And Delilah, Warwick Thornton

Special Mention
Ajami, Scandar Copti, Yaron Shani, Israel-Germany

Critics’ Week Grand Prix
Farewell Gary, Nassim Amamouche, France

Fipresci Awards
Competition: The White Ribbon, Michael Haneke, Germany-Austria-France-Italy
Un Certain Regard: Police, Adjective, Corneliu Porumboiu, Romania
Directors’ Fortnight: Amreeka, Cherien Dabis, Canada-Kuwait-U.S.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *